Plant Biology, Ecology, and Evolution: Research at the Library - finding ARTICLES from JOURNALS

Finding scholarly articles

Below are two sets of databases. The first set will provide access to both magazines and journal articles. Make sure you can tell differences between general magazine articles and scholarly articles. See the tab to the left labeled Differences between magazine and journal articles if you can't.

The second set below lists subject specific databases that provide a more thorough treatment of your botany topic. There will be overlap of some content in all of these databases.

General Subject databases

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.

Selected subject databases

The subject databases below will provide more in-depth coverage of your botany research topic, and will provide primarily peer-reviewed scholarly articles.

Scopus
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
To learn more about logging into Scopus, see this guide.
ScienceDirect
A scientific research index that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences, as well as indexing for journals from cooperating publishers Updated daily Coverage varies by journal. May be searched by journal title and issue in which case the complete table of contents is displayed or by keyword, regardless of the journal title and issue.
AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA contains over 6 million records beginning in 1970, with information on agriculturally related subjects, such as forestry, nutrition, entomology, veterinary sciences and many more.
Google Scholar
With an OSU login, the Google Scholar interface allows users to search library holdings and peer-reviewed articles.

Librarian

Adam Stroud

Email Me

Contact:

Instruction & Assessment Librarian
Research & Learning Services Division
306 Edmon Low Library
Stillwater, OK 74078

405-744-1992

Subjects: Agricultural Science, Agriculture, Animal and Food Sciences, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering, Entomology and Plant Pathology, Geology, Horticulture, Integrative Biology, Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Natural Resource Ecology and Management, Nursing , Nutritional Sciences, Plant and Soil Sciences, Plant Biology, Ecology, and Evolution

Research is a conversation

Conversations in research are occurring through blogs, newspapers, magazines, conferences and academic journals. For your research paper you are required to have a majority of your sources from academic journals. Scholarly journal articles are unique in that they require authors to document and make verifiable their sources of facts, ideas and methods used to arrive at their insights and conclusions, unlike magazine articles or postings on the web.

To find relevant journal articles look at the list of databases. Some databases, like Wal-Mart, are good for having a wide variety of items or topics. These databases have journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Other databases are more specialized, like a Lowe's or a snow-cone stand, offering more, in depth sources from journals on narrower topics.