Finding Tests and Measurements: Test Search Websites
A pathfinder to identifying and finding tests and measures in the social sciences.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes
- Conduct a literature review to identify an assessment instrument. (You may also search TMdb by keyword to locate tests on a given topic, but be aware that the database only contains test titles, authors, and publication dates, so it is often more effective to identify a specific test first.)
- Search by test title or author within TMdb to determine if the test is available in any of the indexed books. Follow the search instructions on the TMdb page carefully. In particular, remember to include TMdb as one of your keywords when you search using UT Arlington search option.
- Review your search results. At the top of each entry, you will see the heading Full Instruments Available In, followed by citation information for a book. Next, you will see a list of the instruments contained in that book.
- If the test is found, check the library catalog to determine if the book that contains it is available in the OSU Library (many compilation volumes are listed on the Books - Full Text tab of this guide). If not, request the book via interlibrary services.
ETS Test Link
- ETS Test LinkEducational Testing Service has developed a searchable database of over 25,000 instruments. Note the availability of each item: a small number can be ordered via the ETS Tests on Demand option, others provide contact information for ordering items through publishers, and others provide citations to books or journal articles in which instruments appear.
Psychological Tests for Student Use
- Psychological Tests for Student UseThis site, created by Ron Okada, Emeritus Professor of Psychology at York University in Toronto, provides access to the full text of a limited number of copyrighted tests. Permission has been given by copyright-holders for students to use these tests for educational purposes.
Registry of Scales and Measures
- Registry of Scales and MeasuresThis site indexes scales and measures, primarily in mental health. Records contain citation information; some also have detailed descriptions. Over 1600 scales are included.
Unavailable as of June 2022.