Higher Education: Databases
This research guide will introduce various databases and websites helpful for education research, statistics and current events.
Start Here
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface)
The Educational Resources Information Center is an index that contains education-related literature and research.
- Google ScholarWith an OSU login, the Google Scholar interface allows users to search library holdings and peer-reviewed articles.
- Social Services AbstractsThis database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Other Education-related Databases
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, covers the international literature on sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- JSTORFull-text access for over 17 million journal articles, books, documents, and research reports in a variety of disciplines.
- PsycINFOThis database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations, and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintDesigned for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print
