Higher Education: Statistics
This research guide will introduce various databases and websites helpful for education research, statistics and current events.
Database
- Statistical InsightProQuest Statistical Insight, formerly called LexisNexis Statistical, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts the statistical content of selected United States government publications, state government publications, business and association publications, and intergovernmental publications. Our coverage is 2007 - present.
Oklahoma State University
- The Office of Institutional Research and Information ManagementProvides student and educational statistics for many government agencies, maintains the Academic Ledger, Student Profile Diversity Ledger, and Fact Book, and administers the Salary Survey.
- The Office of University Assessment and TestingDirects the Institutional Assessment program. They maintain assessment plans and reports, work with faculty on program outcomes assessment, and administer national and local surveys: the National Survey of Student Engagement, Cooperative Institute Research Program Freshmen and Senior Surveys, OSU Alumni Survey and NOC-OSU Gateway.
State
- Oklahoma State Regents for Higher EducationProvides some statistics and news focusing on post-high school data.
- Oklahoma Department of EducationProvides some educational data for the public and serves as a portal for school administrators throughout the state. You might have some luck finding state statistics at OK.gov which provides 24/7 access to state public accessible documents.
National
The mission of the U.S. Department of Education is to "promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access." One activity to accomplish this mission is through the collection of data and overseeing research. The Department oversees the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) which is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Below are specific sites they maintain:
- Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemThe core postsecondary education data collection program for NCES. It provides data from all primary providers of postsecondary education through a system of surveys. IPEDS is a single, comprehensive system designed to encompass all institutions and educational organizations whose primary purpose is to provide postsecondary education.
- DataLabA platform of web-based tools that provide the public with access to data collected by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). DataLab is for researchers, reporters, policy makers, school administrators, students, or anyone interested in education in the United States.
- Education Statistics QuarterlyOffers a comprehensive overview of work done across all of NCES. Each issue includes short publications and summaries covering all NCES publications and data products released in a given time period as well as notices about training and funding opportunities.
International
- World Bank DataA comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as education inputs, participation, efficiency, and outcomes. Much of the data here is from UNESCO (see below) but they also draw from official responses to surveys and from reports provided by education authorities in each country.
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsThe leading source for international education statistics from pre-primary school enrollment to tertiary graduation rates. Covering more than 200 countries and territories, the UIS database covers all education levels and addresses key policy issues such as gender parity, teachers and financing.
