Digital Humanities at Edmon Low Library: Methods, Tools & Technology

ArcGIS

The Edmon Low Library provides support for Mapping and Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Workshops on Story Mapping and Spatial Analysis are frequently offered as well as self-paced training. Access to ESRI's ArcGIS software is available to members of the OSU community at no cost. For more information, visit Maps and Spatial Data.

maps
software
visualization

Constellate

Analyze and visualize millions of journal articles and other documents using Digital Humanities tools. This platform from Ithaka (the producer of JSTOR) is an excellent starting point for exploring Digital Humanities with a low barrier to entry. Log in to Constellate here. For assistance with Digital Scholar Lab for personal or classroom use, contact Megan Macken.

Copyright / Licensing

A basic understanding of copyright and licensing is requisite for most digital scholarship initiatives, including publishing a journal article, developing a textbook, creating a digital exhibit, or licensing creative work. The Edmon Low Library provides copyright resources and consultations on open access and creative commons licensing. For more information see Copyright Basics.

Data Visualization

The Library has several data visualization resources:

• Data Visualization from Research Data Services
• McCasland Foundation Data Visualization Studio

Digital Editions

A digital edition is an online, collaborative version of a text or critical edition. There are a variety of digital publication platforms available depending on project needs. Consultations on TEI (Text Encoding Initiative), digital imaging, transcription, and platform selection are available. Contact Megan Macken for assistance.

Edmon Low Creative Studios

Edmon Low Creative Studios provides access to emerging technology and digital devices for OSU students and faculty. Housed alongside the Main Textbook Collection, the creative studios is focused on helping students record, prepare, and finalize content for academic or personal use. View technology and services available at the Creative Studios.

Experts Directory

OSU researchers maintain the definitive record of their scholarly activity, including research publications, teaching, grants and other projects in Experts Directory. This platform also serves as a springboard for transdisciplinary collaboration and helps raise the research profile of Oklahoma State University through timely and accurate reporting of scholarly activity. Develop your faculty profile in Experts Directory.

HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC)

HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC) is the platform for performing text analysis on the HathiTrust Digital Library, a collection of millions of volumes of published works of all kinds, including government documents. For assistance getting started with HTRC, contact Megan Macken.

High Performance Computing Center (HPCC)

The Oklahoma State High Performance Computing Center (HPCC) provides supercomputing and research cloud services for OSU researchers. For more information, follow this link to the HPCC.

Information Literacy

The Edmon Low Library provides semester-long courses such as "They Wouldn't Put it on the Internet if it Wasn't True: Information, Society, Trust, and Technology in a "Post-Truth" World," workshops, and in-class instruction sessions on literacy of all types, including data, internet, and visual literacy, critical analysis of information, fact checking, and evaluating research resources. For more information contact Holly Reiter, Director of Library Teaching and Learning.

Omeka S

Omeka S is a web publishing and digital exhibitions platform that connects cultural heritage collections online. For a video tour and to view example sites built in Omeka S, visit Omeka S Tour. For additional information about building an Omeka S site, please contact Megan Macken.

Open Access, Open Publishing

Open Access materials are distributed under copyright and licensing agreements which permit free access and dissemination.
Publishing platforms for open access textbooks, educational materials, journals and journal articles are available at Edmon Low Library. For more information, visit Open Textbooks/Open Educational Resources: OpenOKState. or contact Clarke Iakovakis to create an open access journal or deposit your publication in the university open access repository.

Open Science Framework (OSF)

Open Science Framework (OSF) is a free platform for organizing project files and research data in one location. OSF readily connects with popular cloud storage platforms and GitHub. Begin using Open Science Framework at OSU Library. For OSF support, contact Kay Bjornen.

Programming and Coding (Carpentries)

The OSU Libraries hosts the Carpentries, "a community of faculty, staff, and students who teach free workshops about software and computing to researchers." Workshops are scheduled regularly throughout the academic year. Learn more about about OSU Carpentries or participate in a workshop or volunteer with Carpentries @ Oklahoma State University.

Research Data Management

OSU Libraries' Data Services Librarian, Kay Bjornen, can provide guidance on research data management, from developing a data management plan to sharing a final data set. Schedule a consultation with Kay Bjornen.

Software Distribution Center

The OSU Software Distribution Center licenses software for OSU faculty, students and employees. This service is provided by OSU Information Technology (IT). Visit the OSU Software Distribution Center website.

Text and Data Mining (TDM)

Discover Resources for Text and Data Mining.

Tropy

Tropy is open source desktop application for research photo management. It is particularly useful for organizing archival research. Items may be exported to Omeka S. Learn more and download the application at Tropy.org. To schedule a consultation on managing research files and photos in Tropy or other platforms, contact Megan Macken.