Skip to Main Content

OpenOKState Fellows: OER Champions

OpenOKState OER Champions Information and Application

The OpenOKState OER Champions Awards provide recognition to faculty, instructors, or staff who have made outstanding contributions to advance open practices and OER at OSU. These awards honor those whose open course materials and professional and research practices have had an impact on the student experience and influenced peers to share more openly. 

Congratulations to Aubry Huff, Gala Lackey, and Dr. Sarah Hollingsworth  on having been selected by OSU students, faculty and administrators to receive the 2022-2023 OSU Libraries OER Champions Award.

The OpenOKState OER Champion Award honors OSU faculty and instructors for their innovative use of OER and library resources as an alternative to traditional proprietary textbooks and course materials.

Faculty, instructors and staff eligible for nomination have supported some or all of the practices below in their teaching, learning, and research:

  • Use existing OER and/or library resources in their classes
  • Create and share teaching materials that are ancillary to existing open textbooks, for example, test banks of questions, presentations, multimedia content, simulations, instructor and student manuals, study aids, or additional learning activities
  • Revise and share syllabi, assignments, and other course-related resources necessary for the transition to traditional proprietary textbooks and course materials
  • Modify/Create, share and use OER in their classes

Administrators, colleagues, and students are encouraged to nominate faculty and instructors. Self-nominations are also accepted. The nomination process for the 2023-2024 awards will be open November 2023 through March, 2024. Review and selection will take place early April 2024, and notifications sent by April 18, 2024. 

2021-2022 OpenOKState OER Champions

Dr. Ashley Burkett, Dr. Katie Constantin, Dr. Joshua Daniel and Dr. Jessica Turcat

Page updated 10.4.23, Kathy Essmiller