Engineering: Petroleum Engineering

Standard Handbook of Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering, Third Edition, provides you with the best, state-of-the-art coverage for every aspect of petroleum and natural gas engineering. With thousands of illustrations and 1,600 information-packed pages, this handbook is a handy and valuable reference. Written by dozens of leading industry experts and academics, the book provides the best, most comprehensive source of petroleum engineering information available. Now in an easy-to-use single volume format, this classic is one of the true "must haves" in any petroleum or natural gas engineer's library. A classic for over 65 years, this book is the most comprehensive source for the newest developments, advances, and procedures in the oil and gas industry. New to this edition are materials covering everything from drilling and production to the economics of the oil patch. Updated sections include: underbalanced drilling; integrated reservoir management; and environmental health and safety. The sections on natural gas have been updated with new sections on natural gas liquefaction processing, natural gas distribution, and transport. Additionally there are updated and new sections on offshore equipment and operations, subsea connection systems, production control systems, and subsea control systems. Standard Handbook of Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering, Third Edition, is a one-stop training tool for any new petroleum engineer or veteran looking for a daily practical reference. Presents new and updated sections in drilling and production Covers all calculations, tables, and equations for every day petroleum engineers Features new sections on today's unconventional resources and reservoirs

Petroleum Production Engineering, Second Edition, updates both the new and veteran engineer on how to employ day-to-day production fundamentals to solve real-world challenges with modern technology. Enhanced to include equations and references with today's more complex systems, such as working with horizontal wells, workovers, and an entire new section of chapters dedicated to flow assurance, this go-to reference remains the most all-inclusive source for answering all upstream and midstream production issues. Completely updated with five sections covering the entire production spectrum, including well productivity, equipment and facilities, well stimulation and workover, artificial lift methods, and flow assurance, this updated edition continues to deliver the most practical applied production techniques, answers, and methods for today's production engineer and manager. In addition, updated Excel spreadsheets that cover the most critical production equations from the book are included for download. Updated to cover today's critical production challenges, such as flow assurance, horizontal and multi-lateral wells, and workovers Guides users from theory to practical application with the help of over 50 online Excel spreadsheets that contain basic production equations, such as gas lift potential, multilateral gas well deliverability, and production forecasting Delivers an all-inclusive product with real-world answers for training or quick look up solutions for the entire petroleum production spectrum

Fossil fuels, especially petroleum, are still the primary energy source all over the world. With the advent of hydraulic fracturing (i.e. "fracking"), directional drilling, and other technological advances, petroleum and reservoir engineers all over the world have been able to produce much greater results, in much more difficult areas, than ever before, to meet higher global demand. "Enhanced oil recovery (EOR)" is one of the hottest and most important topics in this industry. New technologies and processes must be continually discovered and developed, even as renewable energy begins to grow and become more fruitful, as the demand for more and more energy continues to grow worldwide. This groundbreaking and highly anticipated study discusses the scientific fundamentals of resonance macro- and micro-mechanics of petroleum reservoirs and its petroleum industry applications. It contains an overview of the research and engineering results of resonance macro- and micro-mechanics of petroleum reservoirs, which provide the scientific and applied foundations for the creation of groundbreaking wave technologies for production stimulation and enhanced oil recovery. A valuable tool for the petroleum or reservoir engineer in the field, this volume is also intended for students, teachers, scientists and practitioners who are interested in the fundamentals, development, and application of leading-edge technologies in the petroleum industry and other industrial sectors.

Intelligent Digital Oil and Gas Fields: Concepts, Collaboration, and Right-time Decisions delivers to the reader a roadmap through the fast-paced changes in the digital oil field landscape of technology in the form of new sensors, well mechanics such as downhole valves, data analytics and models for dealing with a barrage of data, and changes in the way professionals collaborate on decisions. The book introduces the new age of digital oil and gas technology and process components and provides a backdrop to the value and experience industry has achieved from these in the last few years. The book then takes the reader on a journey first at a well level through instrumentation and measurement for real-time data acquisition, and then provides practical information on analytics on the real-time data. Artificial intelligence techniques provide insights from the data. The road then travels to the "integrated asset" by detailing how companies utilize Integrated Asset Models to manage assets (reservoirs) within DOF context. From model to practice, new ways to operate smart wells enable optimizing the asset. Intelligent Digital Oil and Gas Fields is packed with examples and lessons learned from various case studies and provides extensive references for further reading and a final chapter on the "next generation digital oil field," e.g., cloud computing, big data analytics and advances in nanotechnology. This book is a reference that can help managers, engineers, operations, and IT experts understand specifics on how to filter data to create useful information, address analytics, and link workflows across the production value chain enabling teams to make better decisions with a higher degree of certainty and reduced risk.