American Indian Resources: Magazines and Scholarly Journals
This is an introductory guide to resources for Native American Studies. Some, but not all, of these are available through the Edmon Low Library, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater.
Journals for American Indian Studies
Note: In many cases, older issues of these journals are only available in print. To find information on all formats search BOSS, using a Basic/Journal Title search on the name of the journal.
American Indian Culture and Research Journal (2008-present) (UCLA American Indian Studies Center). We have online access to some of the volumes. Print issues from 1974-present, OSU Library call number 970.105 A5123
Chronicles of Oklahoma (1921-1962) available online. More recent issues in print only. Published by the Oklahoma Historical Society. Print copies are available in the Main Library Stacks (4th floor), call number 976.605 C557
Ethnohistory (2000-present available through Duke University Press.)
Great Plains Quarterly (1981-2014 print only). Indexed in America, History & Life.
OSU Library call number 978.005 G7863 . v. 34, 2014-available in Project Muse.
Journal of the West (Print only) Call number 978.005 J86
Plains Anthropologist Most recent issues available from the publisher with this link. 1954 (vol. 1) to 2008 available in JSTOR)
Studies in American Indian Literatures SAIL (University of Nebraska) Available from volume 1 to the present in JSTOR; partially available in several other databases.
Wicazo Sa Review (University of Minnesota)Available from volume 1 in JSTOR; partially available in other databases.
Recommended Indexes: Good for Native American Content
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) (EBSCOhost) This database specializes in Indian topics, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. It incudes citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents from the United States and Canada. The Caribbean and Northern Mexico are also covered. The original basis for the BNNA was the Ethnographic Bibliography of North American Indians. It's a relatively small database, with around 141,000 records, but its advantage is that it carries only content of interest for Native studies. Thesaurus.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This comprehensive database features newspapers, magazines, and journals published by the ethnic and minority press. Some of the ENW titles dating from 1990. ENW offers, full-text access to more than 300 publications offering both national and regional coverage, from unique viewpoints. Many of the magazines and journals deal with other groups, rather than American Indians. Another section, ENW--A History covers the years from
America, History and LIfe (EBSCOhost) Focuses on American history from before European contact to the present. Covers about 1,700 journals, including that BNNA doesn't index, some going back to 1910. look at their CLIO Notes feature, which helps you jump to articles on topics in American history.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) One of the easiest databases to use; includes both academic/scholarly journals and general magazines. Provides a lot of articles in full text, without having to link to other databases. You can also check to see if a journal is peer reviewed. This database covers over 4,600 journals, including many that are peer reviewed. Some journals are covered back to the 1970s. Thesaurus.
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This database includes periodicals published between 1740 and 1940. There are both general and special interest magazines: children's magazines, , literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines,and more. Many of them are historically significant.
JSTOR This is an independent database that provides access to important or "core" journals for many disciplies in .pdf format. JSTOR is one of the few online sources for older journals. Tutorials available. CAUTION: JSTOR does not include full text for the latest 3 to 5 years of the journals it covers.
Magazines for Native American Studies
Native Peoples (Heard Museum) Available from 1992 through 2016 in Art and Architecture Complete database. This magazine appears to have become an online publication no longer published by the Heard. Details pending.
American Indian magazine (Smithsonian) We have some print issues that are donated sporadically. Ask in the Government Documents office on th Floor. FS248 NA36 N277 MU65 This magazine is published by the National Museum of the American Indian. This division of the Smithsonian Institution has two locations: on the Mall in Washington, D.C., and in New York City.
There are very many other magazines, newspapers and other publications about--and by--American Indian and Alaska Native communities. ProQuest's Ethnic NewsWatch daatabase covers a few of them with full text.