Theatre: Home
This guide covers resources for the study of drama and theatre at OSU, including how to find plays and reviews
Start with:
You will need to log in with your OSU email address and O-Key to access these databases off-campus.
-
BroadwayHD CollectionIt's curtains up in the classroom when students find a front-row seat to some of the best live theatre straight from Broadway! Award-winning writers, directors and actors become partners in theatre, drama, dance, music, and even literature studies.
-
National Theatre CollectionNational Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. Access unique supplements to the filmed productions — exclusive digitized archival materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and costume bibles which provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
-
Alexander Street PressAlexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research. Includes the following collections:
-
Black Drama: Second EditionThe 2nd Edition of Black Drama contains the full text of more than 1,200 plays written between 1807 and today, published by more than 200 playwrights from North America, the Caribbean, English-speaking Africa, and more. These 1,600 texts are mostly rare and out of print and are gathered from popular and lesser-known black playwrights.
-
North American Indian DramaThis edition of North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Metis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.
-
Theatre and Drama PremiumTheatre and Drama Premium provides everything you need to bring the spectacle of theatre and drama to your students, from interviews with giants like Arthur Miller or James Earl Jones to previously unpublished play manuscripts from the genius of Ed Bullins and Jeannie Barroga.
Then try any of the following:
-
Project MUSEFull text access for about scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press (43 titles). Coverage generally ranges from 1993 to present.
-
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and TelevisionGives bibliographical information on the careers of people working in the entertainment industry.
-
Film & Television Literature IndexA bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications and selective coverage for 300.
-
Music and Dance OnlineMusic and Dance Online is a compendium of audio tracks, videos, music scores, reference sources, and primary documents covering many genres of music and dance. Its component collections include Music Online: Listening, Music Video Collection, Music Reference Collection, Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century, Dance Online: Dance in Video, and Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection.
-
MLA International BibliographyProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present.
Also check out:
-
ARTstorWith approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images, scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.
-
Oxford Academic JournalsAccess to tables of contents, abstracts, full-text, and alerting services for selected Oxford University Press research journals in all disciplines. May be searched by journal title and issue in which case the complete table of contents is displayed or by keyword, regardless of the journal title and issue.
-
JSTORFull-text access for over 17 million journal articles, books, documents, and research reports in a variety of disciplines.
JSTOR's AI-based interactive research tool is currently in beta. Users can visit this page for more information and sign up to use the tool. -
Performance Design Archive OnlineWith the Performance Design Archive Online, theatre students and researchers can now truly see "behind the scenes" of the world's greatest dramatic performances. Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
-
National Theatre CollectionNational Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. Access unique supplements to the filmed productions — exclusive digitized archival materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and costume bibles which provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
