Theatre: Citing Sources
This guide covers resources for the study of drama and theatre at OSU, including how to find plays and reviews
Citing Sources
For research papers on theatre or humanities topics in general, the preferred bibliographic citation style is the Modern Language Association (MLA) Style, 7th Ed. Some professors could ask you to use the Chicago Manual of Style (16th Edition), or Turabian Style which is based on Chicago.
Citation Manuals—Print
-
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th Ed.)
Call Number: 808.02 M689m 2009This is the manual for MLA Style for students writing research papers on literature. We have copies on the 4th floor. -
MLA Style Manual And Guide to Scholarly Publication
Call Number: 808.27 G437m 2008The MLA style manual for authors of journal articles and books. There copies on the 4th floor. -
Chicago Manual of Style (16th Ed.)
Call Number: 655.25 C532 2010This is the manual for the Chicago Manual of Style. There are copies on the 4th floor and it is available online as a Library database. -
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (7th Ed.)
by
Call Number: 808.02 T929m 2007This is the manual for Turabian Style (adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style). Additional copies are on the 4th floor.
Bibliographic Management Software & Online Style Guides
Zotero is a bibliographic management software that helps you format citations in MLA Style and over 200 other bibliographic styles, and works with Microsoft Word to help you create your Works Cited/bibliography pages. Use the link below to learn about Zotero:
Zotero at the Edmon Low Library
These are some guides on the Web to MLA and other citation styles. They can be used help formulate citations, but consult the print style books listed above if you have questions.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): MLA is a detailed reference source on MLA Style.
MLA Handbook Companion Site (MLA) NOTE: To use this site, you much purchase a copy of the 7th Ed. of the MLA Handbook and register an account.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Chicago Manual of Style is a detailed reference source on the 16th Ed. of the manual.
Chicago Manual of Style Online (University of Chicago Press) NOTE: To use this site, you must purchase an individual subscription.
