Theatre: Reference Books/E-Books
This guide covers resources for the study of drama and theatre at OSU, including how to find plays and reviews
Print Reference Books
Reference Books such as encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, and dictionaries can provide background information when researching authors and literary works. Some have very brief entries, but others have more substantive discussions. Some are available as e-book databases with full-text articles online.
Many reference books for theatre history and criticism are shelved on the 4th floor.
To search for reference books on theatrical topics or authors in library search, use your search term and the keywords Encyclopedia, Guide, or Handbook.
-
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
by
Call Number: 792.03 C178 1995 4th Fl.ISBN: 0521434378Publication Date: 1995 -
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
by
Call Number: 809.2003 C726ISBN: 9780231140324Publication Date: 2007-07-03 -
The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
by
Call Number: 792.03 C744 4th Fl.ISBN: 0192811029Publication Date: 1986-12-18This concise Companion is an essential reference work for anyone interested in the history of the world's treatre. Based on the original Oxford Companion to the Theatre, Third Edition, this volume is more than an abridgement. Each article has been considered afresh and rewritten, often with the addition of new material. The range is international, with entries on British, American, and European dramatists, actors, directors, designers, and critics as well as theatrical companies and technical stage terms. -
Contemporary Dramatists
by
Call Number: 822.09 C761 1999ISBN: 155862371XPublication Date: 1998 -
Critical Survey of Drama, English Language Series byCall Number: 822.09 C934ISBN: 0893563757Publication Date: 1985
-
A Guide to Critical Reviews byCall Number: 016.792 S163g 1984ISBN: 0810816903Publication Date: 1984
-
International Dictionary of Theatre
by
Call Number: 792.03 I61ISBN: 1558620958Publication Date: 1992-02-01 -
New York Theatre Critics' Reviews/National Theatre Critics' ReviewsCall Number: 792.05 N532/N5321Publication Date: 1940-1996
Reference E-Book Databases for Criticism & Info on Playwrights
The Library has a reference e-book series from Gale Cengage Learning to help students, faculty, and beginning as well as advanced researchers find scholarly criticism of playwrights, plays, and theatre history. These databases offer searchable online PDF versions of the well-known Gale reference book series, and include biographical information about writers, lists of their works, bibliographies of criticism, and interpretive essays and excerpts from scholarly books, journal articles, and other publications.
You may log in with your OSU email address and O-Key password to access these databases off-campus.
-
Literature Resource CenterGale's Literature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
-
Dictionary of Literary BiographyGale's Dictionary of Literary Biography explores the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
-
Gale Literature CriticismOver 200,000 critical essays and reviews on literature and literary criticism.
-
Something About The Author OnlineSomething About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to the acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author Gale series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
