- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- A Guide to Evidence Synthesis
- Subject Specific Databases
A Guide to Evidence Synthesis: Subject Specific Databases
Subject Specific Databases
Subject specific databases exist to help narrow down a search that aligns with a particular discipline. Oklahoma State University offers access to a wide variety of subject specific databases through the following link:
The above link allows you to search either for popular databases arranged alphabetically or databases by subject. Listed below are common databases across a number of disciplines.
Multidisciplinary:
- ScopusScopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Social Sciences:
- PsycINFOThis database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations, and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, covers the international literature on sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface)
The Educational Resources Information Center is an index that contains education-related literature and research.
Health/Medicine:
- MEDLINECreated by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- PubMedMore than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks, with some full-text linked.
- CAB DirectCAB (Centre for Agriculture & Bioscience International) Direct has over 12.5 million bibliographic records and over 465,000 full text articles in the applied sources, incorporating bibliographical information from CAB Abstracts, CAB Abstracts Archive, and Global Health.
- CINAHL with Full TextA comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Agriculture/Food:
- CAB DirectCAB (Centre for Agriculture & Bioscience International) Direct has over 12.5 million bibliographic records and over 465,000 full text articles in the applied sources, incorporating bibliographical information from CAB Abstracts, CAB Abstracts Archive, and Global Health.
- AGRICOLAAGRICOLA contains over 6 million records beginning in 1970, with information on agriculturally related subjects, such as forestry, nutrition, entomology, veterinary sciences and many more.
Business/Economics:
- ABI/INFORM GlobalA mostly full-text database, ABI/INFORM Global covers a large number of dissertations and theses, and a collection of scholarly journals and periodicals relating to business and finance.
- Business Source EliteBusiness Source Elite provides full text coverage for more than 1,100 scholarly business, management, and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. This database includes full-text coverage dating back as far as 1985, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
- EconLitThe database contains more than 1.8 million references and records published from 1886 to today with full-text links available for many articles.
