- Library
- Guides
- Library Guides
- Teaching, Learning and Educational Sciences
- Secondary Education
Teaching, Learning and Educational Sciences: Secondary Education
This guide highlights resources relevant for students completing programs in the School of Teaching and Curriculum Leadership at Oklahoma State University.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface)
The Educational Resources Information Center is an index that contains education-related literature and research.
- Project MUSEFull text access for about scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press (43 titles). Coverage generally ranges from 1993 to present.
- ScienceDirectA scientific research index that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences, as well as indexing for journals from cooperating publishers Updated daily Coverage varies by journal. May be searched by journal title and issue in which case the complete table of contents is displayed or by keyword, regardless of the journal title and issue.
Keywords for Searching
Here are some suggested keywords for searching concepts related to reading and literacy. Remember these are suggestions. When searching for books or articles, think of synonyms or related words. It is sometimes helpful to try several different search terms before choosing results.
- high school students
- adolescence
- Independence
- hands-on learning
- abstract thought process
- teenager
- academic development
- student needs
Related Websites
- Associated Press ArchiveThe Associated Press has released it's archival footage and made it freely available on YouTube.
- BBC School SecondaryLesson plans for secondary students from the BBC.
- Big 6Use the Big 6 to help your students learn about finding and using information.
- My PlateNutrition information for kids, teens, and adults from The U.S. Department of Agriculture.
- Crayola Lesson PlansLesson plans for all levels combining art with math, science, and literacy.
- Initiative for 21st Century LiteracyOur projects help teachers and students integrate the classroom use of sophisticated technologies and new literacies, improve literacy teaching and learning, build relationships and collaborations through multiple avenues of communication and information, participate critically and ethically in digital settings.
- The Learning Network: Teaching and Learning with the New York TimesLesson plans involving news, media, and stories from the NY Times.
- Library of CongressThe Library of Congress has many resources for educators including lesson plans and oral history interviews. A great source for history, culture, and social studies.
- Ocean Explorer NOAAThe National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association presents lesson plans and multimedia guides related to ocean and weather.
- PBS Learning MediaVideos, lessons plans, interactive media, and self-paced lessons all from PBS. All grade levels.
- ReadWriteThinkLesson plans and interactives for teaching writing.
- Science.govThe gateway to U.S. Federal Science.
- Smithsonian EducationSmithsonian Lesson Plans covering history, arts, science and more.
- Teachers.netA collection of free, online lesson plans.
