Teaching, Learning and Educational Sciences: Special Education
This guide highlights resources relevant for students completing programs in the School of Teaching and Curriculum Leadership at Oklahoma State University.
Related Databases
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- ERIC (ed.gov interface)
The Educational Resources Information Center is an index that contains peer reviewed and full-text education-related literature and research, and a thesaurus.
Suggested Keywords for Searching
Here are some suggested keywords for searching concepts related to reading and literacy. Remember these are suggestions. When searching for books or articles, think of synonyms or related words. It is sometimes helpful to try several different search terms before choosing results.
- Inclusion
- Americans with Disabilities Act
- IDEA
- Individualized Education Plan (IEP)
- Zone of Proximal Development
- milestones
- physical (mental, emotional) impairment
- mainstream
- person-first language
Related Websites
- 13 Categories of Disability under IDEAThis PDF explains the 13 categories of disability as defined by IDEA.
- Oklahoma Department of Rehabilitation ServicesOklahoma Department of Rehabilitation Services helps people with disabilities obtain the training they need to find employment.
- Ten Basic Steps in Special EducationThis website outlines ten steps in the process if it is determined that a child needs special education services.
Websites with Free Lesson Plans
These websites contain free lesson plans for students at all levels; however, they may need to be adapted if a student requires an IEP.
- Associated Press ArchiveThe Associated Press archive--news stories going back to the late 1800's.
- Big 6Use the Big 6 to help your students learn about finding and using information.
- My PlateNutrition information for kids, teens, and adults from The U.S. Department of Agriculture.
- Crayola Lesson PlansLesson plans for all levels combining art with math, science, and literacy.
- Initiative for 21st Century LiteracyOur projects help teachers and students integrate the classroom use of sophisticated technologies and new literacies, improve literacy teaching and learning, build relationships and collaborations through multiple avenues of communication and information, and participate critically and ethically in digital settings.
- The Learning Network: Teaching and Learning with the New York TimesLesson plans involving news, media, and stories from the NY Times.
- Library of CongressThe Library of Congress has many resources for educators including lesson plans and oral history interviews. A great source for history, culture, and social studies.
- Ocean Explorer NOAAThe National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association presents lesson plans and multimedia guides related to ocean and weather.
- PBS Learning MediaVideos, lessons plans, interactive media, and self-paced lessons all from PBS. All grade levels.
- ReadWriteThinkLesson plans and interactives for teaching writing.
- Science.govThe gateway to U.S. Federal Science.
- Smithsonian EducationSmithsonian Lesson Plans covering history, arts, science and more.
- Teachers.netA collection of free, online lesson plans.
