Experts Directory: FAQ
Navigating Experts Directory
Visit expertsdirectory.okstate.edu to access Experts Directory. Login with your OKey credentials. Experts Directory has not yet been rolled out to all colleges. Access to certain parts of the system may be limited depending on where your college is in the rollout process.
Search options are located in multiple places within Experts Directory, from your profile and from the menu. Learn more about searching Experts Directory here. Additional options for search will be available from the public-facing website, Experts, in the future.
Experts Directory is organized into five modules: Profile, Scholarly & Creative Works, Professional Activities, Teaching Activities, and Grants. Each module is further divided into types. The Publications module, for example, includes presentations, fact sheets, patents, and many other types. For a full overview of all available types with examples, visit the What Goes Where? page. You may find the frequently asked questions below useful as well.
View the Profile Guide for Researchers for additional information on editing your profile.
Some data, including title, comes directly from Banner and needs to be updated at the source. Contact your college's Human Resources consultant for assistance.
Please submit the contact form for help.
Experts Directory profiles are set to Internal by default. To learn more about profile privacy in Experts Directory, visit the For Researchers: Profiles page. Public profiles are located at experts.okstate.edu.
Yes, look for a globe or person icon. The globe icon indicates that an item is available for public view. When the person icon is showing, that activity is hidden from other Experts Directory users. Follow this link to learn more about profile privacy settings.
I have an academic profile from another institution or another website. Can I import that profile into Experts Directory?
Scholarly & Creative Works
View the Scholarly & Creative Works Guide for Researchers for additional information about editing your publications.
Adding additional data or to a record or editing an automatically imported record is another reason to create a record manually. Do note that this record is specific to you and will not be included in reports.
I am both the editor of a book and the author of a book chapter in the same book. How do I record both?
Then, add second publication of the type "Book chapter" to your profile. Enter yourself as the author and complete the chapter information. You can also add yourself and other editors here, but it is not required.
View the Professional Activities Guide for Researchers for additional information on editing your professional activities.
For accurate reporting all activities in Experts Directory must include at least one date (a start and/or end date). Activities without dates may be excluded from annual and other reports.
There are several factors that play into this decision. Any activities that you'd like to appear on your public profile need to be entered into Experts Directory. Current year activities that you'd like to add to your next A&D should be added. The A&D process includes a CV-upload option, so prior year or "historic" activities will be incorporated into your A&D in that way.
View the Teaching Activities Guide for Researchers for additional information on editing your teaching activities.
All courses recorded in Banner are automatically added to Experts Directory at the end of each semester and should not be entered manually. For questions about courses taught, please Contact Support.
Presentations of all kinds are entered as "Scholarly & Creative Works." Workshops and other trainings, however, are entered under "Teaching Activities" as other teaching/trainings (even if it is offered for CE credit). Go to the Extension and Engagement Activities support page for more information.
View the Grants Guide for Researchers for additional information on editing your grants.
All funded grants processed by the Grants & Contracts Financial Administration (GCFA) office are automatically fed into Experts Directory on a weekly basis. Any grant that has not yet or will not be processed by GCFA may be entered manually. Click here for information on adding a grant manually..
How do I correct errors I find in grants fed from the Grants & Contracts Financial Administration (GCFA) office?
Please fill out the support form linked here. If you are making multiple changes to multiple grants (e.g. correcting typos, capitalization errors, etc.), it is recommended that you download your CV from Experts Directory (go to Edit My Profile > CV and Reports in the upper right corner), and, using the Track Changes function in Microsoft Word, make the desired changes and upload them to the support form. Please do not manually link anyone to the grant--if it is missing a PI or co-PI, submit the request on the form.
Please do not add a new person to the grant manually. It will be overwritten by the automatic data transfer. If a PI or co-PI is missing, please fill out the support form at info.library.okstate.edu/experts/contact to have this corrected by the Grants & Contracts Financial Administration (GCFA) office.
Data is not available for grants awarded prior to the OSU Banner implementation ca. 2016. These grants may be manually entered as Other Funding. Click here for information on adding a grant manually..